Port activities

Cruise, trade, boating, fishing and ship repair activities: the port of Papeete is really versatile. It is at once the principal port of International Business of French Polynesia, the centre of inter-island trades for conveyance of goods and transport of passengers, a fishing port which have specific equipment, a home port and a port of call for cruise ships, and finally a port of boating and luxury yachting. All Port activities are made on a limited area.

A multi-traffic Port in a new centery

The port of Papeete is located in French Polynesia in the island of Tahiti (South Pacific). French Polynesia is made up of more than 130 islands divided into five archipelagos spread over a surface area of more than 5 million km², comparable to the Europe one. The geographical situation of the port is between 5° and 25° latitudes South, and 135° and 145° longitudes West, to 6.500 km to South South West of American coasts and to 5.400 km at extreme East of Australia.

The Port Authority of Papeete has property assets and exceptional maritime assets of 760 hectares total area. Principal port installations are located around the Papeete harbour, communicating with ocean thanks to a channel of 110 m wide and 12 meter deep (acceptable draught: 11 meters). The whole maritime domain managed by the Port Authority extends from the Taapuna channel to the Iriti headland in Pirae, which represents a surface area of 680 hectares. The terrestrial part of the domain extends on 80 hectares, resulting for the most part of embankments progressively built around the small island of Motu Uta since creation of the establishment in 1962.

Unlike metropolitan ports, often very specialised, the port of Papeete manages all types of traffics. We can compare passengers traffic to the port Bastia one (Corsica), the overall volume of goods is equivalent to the one of Nouméa (not nickel exports) and the entire port activity to the one of the port La Rochelle. Besides, the port area is a dynamical industrial and commercial complex, in which more than 250 businesses representing principal business sectors of Polynesian economy are present.

Since 2000, the Port Authority of Papeete invested more than 12 billion CFP francs, that is to say 100,5 million, euros in construction of port infrastructures. The aim was to improve conditions for International Business and inter-island trade, but also to improve welcoming of cruise ships as well as fishing and yachting activities. These large-scale works have been predominantly self-financed each year.

These modern installations in permanent progress add to dynamism in the economy of French Polynesia. Port installations are classified into two categories: – Those resulting from embankments of coral areas like Motu Uta, the Cabotage wharf and the Hydrocarbons zone at East of the reef. These installations are linked to the dry land by the Fare Ute bridge of 100 m length ; – Installations on the dry land, namely the Cruise ships wharf with its two berths, the Ferry wharf or the Moorea wharf, the marina of Papeete on the side of the Yacht wharf and finally the Fishing wharf located in the North of Fare Ute/Papeava.

Comments are closed.

Activités du port

Croisière, commerce, plaisance, pêche, réparation navale : le port de Papeete se caractérise par sa polyvalence. Il est à la fois le principal port de commerce international de la Polynésie française, le centre des échanges inter-îles tant pour l’acheminement des marchandises que pour le transport de la population, un port de pêche doté d’équipements spécifiques, un port d’attache et d’escale pour les paquebots de croisière, et enfin, un port de plaisance et de yachting de luxe. Et ce, sur un domaine foncier limité de par sa superficie.

Un Port multi-trafics qui se modernise

Le port de Papeete est situé sur l’île de Tahiti, dans le Pacifique Sud, et fait parti de la Polynésie française qui regroupe plus de 128 îles réparties en 5 archipels sur une superficie de plus de 5 millions de km carrés, comparable à celle de l’Europe. Sa situation géographique la positionne entre 5° à 25° de latitude Sud, et 135° à 145° de longitude Ouest, à 6.500 km au Sud Sud-Ouest des côtes américaines et à 5.400 km à l’extrême Est de l’Australie.

Le Port Autonome de Papeete, qui est l’autorité portuaire du port de Papeete, dispose d’un patrimoine foncier et maritime exceptionnel d’une superficie totale de 760 hectares. Les principales installations portuaires sont implantées autour de la rade de Papeete, communiquant avec l’océan par une passe de 110 mètres de large et de 12 mètres de profondeur (tirant d’eau admissible : 11 mètres). L’ensemble du domaine maritime géré s’étend de la passe de Taapuna à la pointe Iriti à Pirae, soit une surface de 680 hectares. La partie terrestre du domaine s’étend pour sa part sur 80 hectares, résultant en majeure partie de remblais effectués progressivement autour de l’îlot de Motu Uta depuis la création de l’établissement en 1962.

À la différence des ports métropolitains, souvent très spécialisés, le port de Papeete gère tous les types de trafic. Son trafic passagers peut être comparé à celui du port de Bastia (Corse), le volume global des marchandises est équivalent à celui de Nouméa (hors exportation de nickel) et l’ensemble de l’activité portuaire à celle du port de La Rochelle. De plus, la zone portuaire s’intègre dans un complexe industriel et commercial dynamique dans lequel plus de 250 entreprises, représentant les principaux secteurs d’activité de l’économie polynésienne, sont présentes.

Depuis l’an 2000, le Port Autonome de Papeete a investi plus de 12 milliards de Fcfp, soit 100,5 millions d’euros, dans la construction d’infrastructures portuaires afin d’améliorer les conditions de développement du commerce international et interinsulaire, mais aussi l’accueil des navires de croisière, les activités de la pêche et de la plaisance. Ces chantiers d’envergures ont été assurés en grande partie par la capacité d’autofinancement dégagée chaque année par le Port Autonome de Papeete.

Ces installations portuaires modernes en constante évolution participent au dynamisme de l’économie de la Polynésie française. Elles se classent en deux catégories : – Celles résultant des remblais des zones coralliennes comme Motu Uta, les quais de cabotage et la zone des hydrocarbures à l’est du récif barrière. Ces installations sont reliées à la terre ferme par le pont de Fare Ute de 100 mètres de long ; – Les installations situées sur la terre ferme, à savoir le quai des paquebots avec ses 2 épis, la gare maritime des des ferries ou quai de Moorea, la marina de Papeete située au quai des yachts, et enfin, le port de pêche localisé au nord de la zone de Fare Ute/Papeava.

Commentaires non activés