Cruise activity

identite-visuelle-pap-2011-web

CRUISE ACTIVITY : A very modern home port and port of call

Cruise tourism generates important economic fallout – billions of CFP franc per year – and contributes a lot to promotion of Tahiti and her islands around the world. The Port of Papeete is at once a port of call for international cruise ships and also a home port for vessels doing cruises through islands. French Polynesia is a favourite destination on the global cruise industry; an industry largely dominated by the Caribbean and the Mediterranean.

Since 2004, with construction of two big berths in the Papeete harbour, the Port of Papeete became a real port of international cruise, able to welcome simultaneously four cruise ships, calling or based in French Polynesia. These structures, which respond to international welcoming, mooring and safety standards, attract jewels of cruise activity such as the Paul Gauguin, the Tahitian Princess, the Amsterdam, the Seven Seas Mariner, the Regal Princess or the Queen Elizabeth II, sizes unreservedly. The harbour allows a 11 m draught, thanks to the depth and breadth of the channel of Papeete (12 m depth and 110 m breadth).

One of priorities of the country is to develop cruise tourism. That’s why a development instrument of the cruise industry in French Polynesia was created, the “Tahiti Cruise Club”. Among different partners we find the Papeete Port Authority, the Tourism Office and professionals of international cruise and yachting, of which the company Archipelagoes belong to. The Paul Gauguin, the MSY Wind Spirit, the MS Marina, the Aranui V: local cruise, represented by vessels based in our islands, is an important part of touristic development in our country. The Port of Papeete is the start of the line for cruises made through the five archipelagos. The cargo and passenger ship Aranui V measures 126m length and can carry 200 passengers. Departing from Tahiti, the Aranui V do exceptional trips of 15 days in the Tuamotu islands and the Marquesas archipelago, which represents a cruise of more than 1.500 km. With the MSY Wind Spirit, the Wind Star Cruise company offers cruise services in the Leeward Islands, and Tahiti Ocean proposes private yachts for unforgettable cruises. Cruise activity based in French Polynesia is also represented by differentiated cruise options that the Paul Gauguin and the Ms Marina propose.

terminal-croisiere-pap

Equipment and infrastructures

The two South and North berths of 200 m length and 35 m wide look onto a second work zone. Berths are built on stakes 711 m in diameter and 50 m maximal length. Sheet piles, prefabricated material in concrete and poured concrete, complete each berth. These modern and aesthetic installations value the seafront of Papeete, offer adapted infrastructures to cruise companies and offer comfortable calls to cruise travellers who can directly access stores of the city.

Comments are closed.

Croisière

identite-visuelle-pap-2011-web

CROISIERE : Un port d’attache et d’escale ultra-moderne

Le tourisme de croisière génère des retombés économiques considérables – plusieurs milliards de Fcfp par an – et contribue grandement à la promotion de l’image de Tahiti et ses îles à travers le monde. Le port de Papeete est à la fois un port d’escale pour les paquebots internationaux et un port d’attache pour les navires effectuant des croisières dans les îles. La Polynésie française est une destination appréciée sur le marché mondial de la croisière largement dominé par les Caraïbes et la Méditerranée.

Depuis 2004, avec la construction de deux grands épis dans la rade de Papeete, le port de Papeete est un véritable port de croisière international, capable d’accueillir simultanément quatre paquebots, en escale ou basés en Polynésie française. Ces structures, qui répondent aux normes internationales d’accueil, d’amarrage et de sécurité, attirent les fleurons de l’hôtellerie flottante mondiale, du Paul Gauguin au Tahitian Princess, en passant par l’Amsterdam, le Seven Seas Mariner, le Regal Princess, ou encore le Queen Elizabeth II, sans restriction de taille. La rade autorise un tirant d’eau de 11 m, grâce à la profondeur et à la largeur de la passe de Papeete (12 m de profondeur et 110 m de large).

Dans le cadre de la priorité donnée au développement du tourisme de croisière, une structure de promotion du tourisme de croisière appelée « Tahiti Cruise Club » regroupe le Port Autonome, le GIE Tahiti Tourisme et des professionnels de la croisière internationale et de la plaisance dont la société Archipelagoes. Le Paul Gauguin, le Wind Spirit, le MS Marina et l’Aranui V : la croisière locale, représentée par des navires basés dans nos îles, est un axe de développement touristique important. Le port de Papeete sert de base arrière pour les croisières effectuées dans les eaux des cinq archipels. D’une capacité de 200 passagers et d’une longueur de 126 mètres, le cargo-mixte Aranui V réalise en partance de Tahiti, des périples de 15 jours exceptionnels sur les îles Tuamotu et l’archipel des Marquises, soit une croisière de plus de 1.500 kilomètres. La compagnie Wind Star Cruise Line offrent avec le MSY Wind Spirit des prestations de croisière dans les îles sous le Vent, et Tahiti Océan propose des yachts privés pour des croisières inoubliables. La croisière basée en Polynésie française, c’est aussi le Paul Gauguin et Ms Marina qui offrent des formules de croisière différenciée.

terminal-croisiere-pap

Équipements et infrastructures

Les deux épis, nord et sud, de 200 mètres de long sur 35 de large, donnent sur une zone de travail arrière. L’ensemble est fondé sur pieux de diamètre 711mm et d’une longueur maximale de 50 mètres. Des palplanches, éléments préfabriqués en béton et du béton coulé en place complètent chacun des épis. Ces installations modernes et esthétiques permettent de valoriser le front de mer de la ville de Papeete, d’offrir des escales confortables aux croisiéristes, qui ont directement accès aux services proposés par les commerces de la ville, ainsi que des infrastructures adaptées aux besoins des compagnies de croisière.

Commentaires non activés