Port history

What progress since the 19 century! Papeete was slowly growing around the harbour and now, it became a modern and multi-traffic port! Since 1962, this economic powerhouse, barometer of economic health of the country and in connection with the whole world, is a public establishment in constant development, at the rate of evolution of its different traffics.

« What strikes you when you arrive in the harbour is this small island just above the water looking like an emerald, and on which flies the “O-Taiti” flag. Motu-Uta or the Queen Island, there is the name of this small island. »

(Drawing by Sergeant Sahler of the 1st Marine Infantry Regiment, 1899).

Papeete owes the port its existence and histories of their developments are linked. On the one hand, right from the first half of the 18th century, the port of Papeete extended thanks to its harbour sheltered from winds and ocean currents, and on the other hand thanks to the richness of water. Besides, because of this richness of water, we called the capital city “Papeete” (“pape”: water and “ete”: basket).

At the end of the 18th century, when European sailors arrived in Tahiti, they noticed there were good conditions of anchorage in the harbour, accessible by a natural channel, protected by a barrier reef and offering a wide and deep berth. With development of trade, Papeete became a small town, and then when missionaries and representatives of royalties and the State arrived, it became the religious and political centre. Finally, after annexation by France in 1843, Papeete became the administrative centre of the French protectorate. It was the Admiral BRUAT who advised the Government to choose Papeete as Tahiti’s capital city.

 

A favoured port of call for commercial purposes

Papeete becoming the economic and political centre of French Polynesia, vessels flew abundantly in the harbour. Quickly the port became an important port of call, receiving numerous whaling ships and schooners trading with islands (mother-of-pearl, copra, vanilla…). Face to the increase of traffic, we built landing stages in wood but then replaced it by a wharf built in masonry. Captain RIMBEAUD was at the origin of the new city plan and constructions around the harbour. Development of the city progressively extended from 1850 to 1900 and in 1860 the first landing stages were built.

At the end of the 19th century, the first wharf built for receiving cargo ships was the Cruise ships wharf, located in the Papeete downtown. A local fleet of about ten ship-owners was doing shipping service between Tahiti and her islands, carrying goods and passengers. Since 1923, the “Messageries Maritimes” established a regular connection with Europe, passing by Panama. In 1928, we extended the Cruise ships wharf in order to make docking for two vessels possible, but in 1938 we replaced it by the present infrastructure. In 1950 it was completed by the Slipway of Fare Ute, built in parallel with the old slipway of 1929 and in 1957 it was completed by an oil wharf.

During the late 1950s, port installations were already useless face to the increase of traffics in the port of Papeete. Lack of space and material resources: the port was stifling. But it was going to take a new take-off…

 

The turning point with the “Centre d’Expérimentation du Pacifique” arrival

During the sixties, quietness of life in Tahiti brutally disappeared when the Faa’a International Airport opened and when the “Centre d’Expérimentation du Pacifique” (CEP) arrived in 1962.

These events, as well as the construction of a well-equipped naval base in Tahiti, explained the economic growth in French Polynesia and so, the present extension of the port of Papeete. The Port Authority of Papeete public establishment was created on January 5th 1962 in response to deep economic mutations. In 1962, several works started: development of the naval base and port installations, construction of the seawall protection of 2,2km length by 5 meters high on the reef, backfilling of the Motu Uta small island and construction of the Cargo wharf. These developments lasted nearly four years and finished with the opening of the new port of Papeete on July 29th 1966 in General BILLOTTE’s presence, Minister of Overseas departments and territories of France. Overall length of quays passed from 300 to 1.100 metres, platforms area from 4.000 to 50.000 m² and storage areas from 10.000 to 22.500 m². The total cost for works was of 1,086 billion in CFP franc, of which 931 million were taken care of by the State, 55 million by the Territory and 100 million by the Port Authority of Papeete.

Since then, the port is continually expanding and all sites that can be exploited have been used or are in use. The 2000-2009 urban homesteading with 12,4 billion investments for 19 operations permitted the port to build modern cruise infrastructures, in order to respond to needs of yachting, fishing, international and inter-island business activities. This 2000-2009 urban homesteading marks a new phase of development of the port, by modernizing infrastructures to respond to a more and more restricting international regulation in terms of safety and by adapting these infrastructures to big development projects of French Polynesia.

 

40 years of history and evolutions

In 2002, the Port Authority of Papeete celebrated its 40 years. Forty years of history and evolutions in the service of French Polynesia, playing a crucial role in economy and remaining one of its barometers. The country extraordinarily developed within a half century, as well as the Port Authority of Papeete.

In 2002 in Papeete, 98% of imports passed in transit by port installations able to manage all types of traffic, unlike metropolitan ports often very specialized. Passenger traffic was ranked not far from the port of Bastia (Corse) one, the global volume of goods represented the Nouméa one (not nickel exports) and the whole port activity represented the port La Rochelle one.

 

Visit of the French President, Jacques CHIRAC

The year 2003 will stay engraved in the port of Papeete’s history. It was marked by the prestigious visit of previous French President Jacques CHIRAC and his wife, on July 26th 2003 for the opening of the North berth of the Cruise ships wharf, in presence of high authorities of the country. This infrastructure, representing an investment of more than 2,5 billion CFP franc was done in order to permit a development on a large scale of cruise tourism in the five Archipelagos of French Polynesia and also towards neighbour countries of South Pacific. This opening took place in a “Tahiti long time ago” atmosphere because the Cruise ships wharf was the first wharf built in the port of Papeete during the 19th century, when vessels coming from Europe were berthing after long trips. It was with a bit of nostalgia that the French President affixed a commemorative plaque on a stone, in memory of this important moment for the port of Papeete and thus for French Polynesia. During his opening speech, the French President wanted to remind the importance of cruise tourism development for economic reconversion of the country, after the period of nuclear weapons tests. He also emphasised the fact he supported development initiatives of the Government of French Polynesia to that effect.

 

Download

Download HERE the “procès-verbal” of the Territorial Assembly of January 5th 1962 : Examination of report n° 62-2 relating to creation and organisation of the Port Authority of Papeete.

 

Chief Operating Officers who succeded over the port’s history

  • 1962 – M. Martin DELAHAYE
  • 1963 – M. René LACROIX
  • 1966 – M. Michel JAROUSSEAU
  • 1972 – M. Rodrigue LEGAYIC
  • 1983 – M. Alban ELLACOTT
  • 1984 – M. Boris LEONTIEFF
  • 1988 – M. Jean-Patrick BONNETTE
  • 1997 – Mme Béatrice CHANSIN
  • 2005 – M. Georges LAN AH LOI
  • 2006 – M. Yves de MONTGOLFIER
  • 2007 – M. Terii VALLAUX
  • 2008 – M. Patrick BORDET
  • 2011 – M. Mario BANNER-MARTIN
  • 2015 – M. Boris PEYTERMANN
  • 2016 – M. Georges PUCHON

Comments are closed.

Histoire du port

Que de chemin parcouru depuis le 19ème siècle, alors que la ville de Papeete se développait autour de la rade abritée qui allait voir se développer le port moderne et multi-trafic que nous connaissons aujourd’hui ! Depuis 1962, ce poumon économique de la Polynésie française, baromètre de la santé économique du fenua, lien avec le monde extérieur, est un établissement public qui se développe en permanence, au rythme de l’évolution de ses différents trafics.

« Ce qui frappe tout d’abord quand on arrive dans la rade, c’est un petit îlot à fleur d’eau comme une émeraude et sur laquelle flotte le pavillon d’O-Taiti. Motu-Uta où l’île de la Reine, tel est le nom de cette île miniature. »

(dessin du Sergent Sahler du 1er régiment d’infanterie de marine, 1899).

La ville de Papeete doit son existence à son port et l’histoire de leur développement est liée. Le port de Papeete a pu se développer dès la première moitié du 18ème siècle grâce, d’une part, à l’hospitalité de sa rade très abritée des vents et des courants marins, et d’autre part, au fait que l’on y trouvait de l’eau en grande quantité, d’où le nom de « Papeete ».

À leur arrivée, à la fin du 18ème siècle, les navigateurs européens remarquèrent l’excellence du mouillage dans la rade de Papeete, accessible par une passe naturelle, protégée par un récif barrière et offrant un plan d’eau large et profond. Avec le développement du commerce, Papeete se transforma en une petite agglomération puis, sous les actions conjuguées des missionnaires et des représentants des royautés et de l’Etat, devint le centre religieux et politique de Tahiti, enfin siège administratif du protectorat français après l’annexion à la France en 1843. C’est l’Amiral BRUAT qui conseilla au Gouvernement le choix de Papeete comme capitale.

 

Une escale de commerce privilégiée

Papeete devenant le centre de la vie économique et politique du grand archipel polynésien, les navires affluèrent dans la rade. Rapidement, le port de Papeete s’imposa comme une escale importante, fréquentée au milieu du 19ème siècle par de nombreux baleiniers et par des goélettes qui commerçaient avec les îles (nacre, coprah, vanille…). Pour répondre à l’accroissement du trafic, divers appontements en bois furent successivement construits puis remplacés par un quai en maçonnerie. Le Capitaine du Génie RIMBEAUD fut l’auteur du plan de la nouvelle ville et de ses constructions bâties autour de la rade. Le développement de la ville s’étalat d’une façon progressive de 1850 à 1900 et c’est en 1860 que se construisirent les premiers appontements.

A la fin du 19ème siècle, le premier quai “Le Quai des Paquebots” situé en plein centre ville de Papeete fut construit de manière à accueillir les navires au long cours. Une flotte locale d’une dizaine d’armateurs assuraient une desserte entre Tahiti et les îles, transportant marchandises et passagers . Dès 1923, les Messageries Maritimes établissent une liaison régulière avec l’Europe, en passant par Panama. Agrandi en 1928 pour permettre l’accostage de deux navires, il fut remplacé en 1938 par l’ouvrage actuel. Cet ouvrage fut complété, en 1950 par la cale de halage de Fare Ute, qui fut édifiée parallèlement à l’ancienne cale de 1929, et en 1957 par la mise en service d’un appontement pétrolier toujours à Fare Ute.

A la fin des années 50, les installations portuaires étaient déjà dépassées face à la croissance des trafics qui s’exerçaient à cette époque dans le port de Papeete. Manque de place et de moyens : le port était en voie d’asphyxie. Mais, un nouvel essor l’attendait…

 

Le tournant du CEP

Dans les années 60, la tranquillité de la vie locale va brutalement voler en éclats avec l’ouverture de l’aéroport de Tahiti Faa’a et l’arrivée du Centre d’Expérimentation du Pacifique (CEP) en 1962.

La décision d’implanter le CEP à Moruroa et la nécessité pour les autorités militaires de disposer d’une base arrière navale parfaitement équipée à Tahiti furent à l’origine de l’essor économique de la Polynésie française et de l’extension actuelle du port de Papeete. L’Etablissement public “Port Autonome de Papeete” fut créé le 5 janvier 1962 pour mettre en oeuvre d’importants travaux dictés par de profondes mutations économiques. Les travaux d’extension des installations portuaires, base navale, construction de la digue de protection sur le récif d’une longueur de 2,2 km sur 5 mètres de hauteur, remblaiement de l’îlot de Motu Uta, quai au long cours, commencèrent durant l’année 1962. Cette phase principale d’extension dura près de quatre ans pour s’achever par l’inauguration du nouveau port de Papeete le 29 juin 1966 en présence du Général BILLOTTE alors ministre des DOM-TOM. Elle permit de porter la longueur totale des quais de 300 à 1.100 mètres, la surface de terre-pleins de 4.000 à 50.000 m2, et les surfaces d’entreposage de 10.000 à 22.500 m2. Le coût total des ouvrages s’éleva à l’issue des travaux à 1,086 milliard de Fcfp, dont 931 millions pris en charge par l’Etat, 55 millions par le Territoire et 100 millions par le Port Autonome de Papeete.

Depuis cette date, le port de Papeete est en continuelle extension et l’on peut constater que, dans sa configuration actuelle, tous les sites exploitables ont été utilisés ou sont en cours d’utilisation. Le schéma directeur 2000-2009, avec ses 12,4 milliards d’investissements sur 19 opérations, a permis en particulier au port de Papeete de se doter d’infrastructures de croisières modernes, de répondre aux besoins de la plaisance, de la pêche et du commerce international et inter-îles. Le schéma directeur 2010-2019 le fait quant à lui entrer dans une nouvelle phase de son développement, afin de moderniser les infrastructures pour répondre à une réglementation internationale de plus en plus contraignante en matière de sûreté et de les adapter aux grands projets de développement de la Polynésie française.

 

40 années d’histoire et d’évolution

En 2002, le Port Autonome de Papeete a fêté ses 40 ans. Quarante années d’histoire et d’évolution au service de la Polynésie française durant lesquelles, il a joué un rôle crucial pour l’économie dont il reste un des baromètres. Le Pays a extraordinairement évolué en l’espace d’un demi siècle et le Port Autonome de Papeete avec lui.

En 2002, 98% des importations ont transité par les installations portuaires de Papeete. Elles étaient capables de gérer tous les types de trafic à la différence des ports métropolitains, souvent très spécialisés. Le trafic passagers se classait non loin de celui du port de Bastia (Corse), le volume global des marchandises représentait celui de Nouméa (hors exportation de nickel) et l’ensemble de l’activité portuaire à celle du port de La Rochelle.

 

Visite du Président de la République française, Jacques CHIRAC

L’année 2003 restera gravée dans l’histoire du port de Papeete, outil privilégié pour le développement économique de la Polynésie française, par la visite prestigieuse, le samedi 26 juillet 2003, du Président de la République française, Monsieur Jacques CHIRAC, qui a procédé, en présence de son épouse et des hautes autorités du Pays, à l’inauguration de l’épi Nord du Quai des Paquebots. Cette infrastructure, représentant un investissement de plus de 2,5 milliards de Fcfp, a été réalisée dans le but de permettre le développement à grande échelle du tourisme de croisière dans les eaux des cinq archipels de la Polynésie française, et aussi au delà, vers les pays voisins du Pacifique Sud. Ce fut dans un atmosphère du “Tahiti d’antan”, car le Quai des Paquebots a été le premier quai construit au port de Papeete au 19ème siècle où les navires de l’époque accostaient après de longs voyages depuis l’Europe, avec un brin de nostalgie que le Président de la République a apposé une plaque commémorative sur une pierre en souvenir de ce moment important pour le port de Papeete et aussi la Polynésie toute entière. Dans son discours d’inauguration, le Président de la République a voulu rappeler l’importance du développement de la croisière et du tourisme en général pour la reconversion économique du Pays après l’aire des essais nucléaires, et qu’il soutenait les initiatives de développement du Gouvernement de la Polynésie française dans ce sens.

 

Téléchargement

Téléchargez ICI le PV de l’assemblée territoriale du 5 janvier 1962 : Examen du rapport n° 62-2 relatif à la création et à l’organisation du Port Autonome de Papeete.

 

Les Directeurs Généraux du Port Autonome de Papeete au fil de son Histoire

  • 1962 – M. Martin DELAHAYE
  • 1963 – M. René LACROIX
  • 1966 – M. Michel JAROUSSEAU
  • 1972 – M. Rodrigue LEGAYIC
  • 1983 – M. Alban ELLACOTT
  • 1984 – M. Boris LEONTIEFF
  • 1988 – M. Jean-Patrick BONNETTE
  • 1997 – Mme Béatrice CHANSIN
  • 2005 – M. Georges LAN AH LOI
  • 2006 – M. Yves de MONTGOLFIER
  • 2007 – M. Terii VALLAUX
  • 2008 – M. Patrick BORDET
  • 2011 – M. Mario BANNER-MARTIN
  • 2015 – M. Boris PEYTERMANN
  • 2016 – M. Georges PUCHON

Commentaires non activés